Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (33) - TV Shows (42) - Books (2)

Not Impressed,...

Posted : 2 years, 9 months ago on 29 October 2014 05:06 (A review of Marry Me)

From the two episodes I've already watched, it's really lightweight fluff and not really impressing me. Casey Wilson so far has been a big disappointment: she's taken her Penny role from Happy Endings and turned up the "ah-maa-zing" shtick to a wholly annoying shrill! She needs to turn it down quite a bit, leave Penny behind and move into her new role if this show has any hope of making it to May 2015.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Salem review

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 29 August 2014 04:57 (A review of Salem)

I'm really conflicted about this show: on the one hand, it's a period piece/soap opera based on the rarely touched-upon story of the Salem Witch Trials hysteria AND it doesn't involve vampires and werewolves!! However, the unrelenting gore for what the producers must think is "edgy" shock value is completely unnecessary and undermining a good plot.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Wayward Pines review

Posted : 3 years ago on 11 August 2014 02:26 (A review of Wayward Pines)

Wasn't Twin Peaks supposed to be in Idaho, too? Something weird, other than potatoes, must be growing in that state!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cinnamon Apple Rings review

Posted : 3 years ago on 10 August 2014 02:34 (A review of Cinnamon Apple Rings)

One of the first things I look forward to making during the fall, when the proper type of apples come into season.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hollywoodland review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 14 June 2014 08:37 (A review of Hollywoodland)

I've always had a soft spot for Hollywood in the 50s and the 50s-era LAPD in articular, so this movie satisfies two things for me.
The movie itself was never the big hit (or financial windfall) that was promised. I think it was because the pre-production press featured Ben Affleck's role as George Reeve, when the bulk of the movie was centered around up-and-comer Adrien Brody's role as a down-at-the-heels PI Louis Simo and his investigation into Reeve's controversial death. SPOILER ALERT - Affleck's role is Reeve's life in flashback and minimal.
The plot, told through Simo's eyes, is surprisingly straight forward: George Reeve, former star of TV's Superman, died after a party under suspicious circumstances. As in the true story upon which the movie is based, many of the leads (and subplots) lead nowhere and in the end, the true cause of Reeve's death was never wholly resolved. The truer victim: truth at the hands of the Hollywood studio system.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Weetabix review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 1 June 2014 03:40 (A review of Weetabix)

Looks like scrapple in a bowl! But, of course, it isn't scrapple because scrapple is a pork porridge and Weetabix is a whole-grain cereal.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Vanilla Fudge review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 4 May 2014 04:26 (A review of Vanilla Fudge)

Wait? This isn't the band from the 70s???? What kind of sick joke is this? And have I reached 100 characters yet or do I have to stretch this gag out a few more words?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

State and Main review

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 2 April 2014 03:05 (A review of State and Main)

A classic Mamet movie with all the snappy dialogue, industry insides, and timing you come to expect from him. Philips Seymour Hoffman and William H Macy were true standouts in the ensemble cast.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Da Vinci's Inquest review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 24 March 2014 02:33 (A review of Da Vinci's Inquest)

Along with Vancouver-based "Cold Squad," this was one of two great police procedurals chock full of damaged characters dealing with humanity's worst side. Not one to close each case neatly with a bow and ribbon, the bad guys didn't always end in jail, the good guys bent, broke and/or outright mutilated the rule of law, but in the end, each character had to deal with their own private "Heart of Darkness." It's really a shame it ended and morphed into the horrible Da Vinci's City Hall.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Down Periscope review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 23 March 2014 04:53 (A review of Down Periscope)

One of those movies that shouldn't have succeeded (it initially didn't at the box office), but still lives one because of its silly, enduring charm and loads of star turns (Rip Torn all but phoned in his role, Bruce Dern was his usual over-the-top self, and Harry Dean Stanton sorta snuck in).


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block