Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (33) - TV Shows (42) - Books (2)

Kitten with a Whip review

Posted : 3 years, 6 months ago on 13 February 2014 12:39 (A review of Kitten with a Whip)

Imagine an acid trip where Lolita is on the run from the law, takes refuge at Humbert Humbert's house and throws a shindig. Then things get really, really out of hand. The ending was too neat and clean, but typical for the early 60s sensitivities.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Our Idiot Brother review

Posted : 3 years, 6 months ago on 11 February 2014 04:50 (A review of Our Idiot Brother)

Pretentious NYC liberals upended by clueless stoner brother. Episodic and rather pointless. The only redeeming factors? Zooey Deschanel and Rashida Jones as a lesbian couple!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

That's My Boy review

Posted : 3 years, 6 months ago on 1 February 2014 08:31 (A review of That's My Boy)

Is it me or have Sandler's movies become formulaic, bottom of the barrel infantile messes?? If it wasn't playing on the TV at the firehouse, I would've never bothered watching it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Little Mosque on the Prairie review

Posted : 3 years, 6 months ago on 29 January 2014 07:00 (A review of Little Mosque on the Prairie)

I just stumbled across this show. Interesting concept. The show manages to take this somewhat hot topic and make a sitcom from the culture clash without touching some of the more controversial aspects of Islam.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Words review

Posted : 3 years, 7 months ago on 14 January 2014 02:12 (A review of The Words)

A great version of the question "what is the price of fame?" Well acted, but the three parallel plot lines became a little distracting and the Dennis Quaid/Olivia Wilde sub-plot seemed rather pointless in the end.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Orphan Black review

Posted : 3 years, 7 months ago on 31 December 2013 03:49 (A review of Orphan Black)

Wow! One of the truly original concepts on TV. The clones aren't simply the same person in different environments, but totally different characters in general. Interesting plot device: they all represent varying aspects of our society - the street-wise drug dealer, the buttoned-down conservative housewife, the lesbian geneticist. Each one is a puzzle piece that when put together is creating a GREAT picture! Kudos to Tatiana Maslany for her performance(s) as the multiple clones.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Originals review

Posted : 3 years, 9 months ago on 16 November 2013 05:11 (A review of The Originals)

Oh, no! The Vampire Diaries meet Twilight! Can we please put a stake in the whole "updated" vampire mythos??
BTW - neat casting nod - Claire Holt and Phoebe Tonkin used to swim the Australian oceans as mermaids in "Just Add Water.:


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Julian Po review

Posted : 3 years, 9 months ago on 7 November 2013 12:27 (A review of Julian Po)

This is one of those quirky little films populated with a mix of then-hot and/or up-and-comers of the indie set. I haven't seen it for years because it just disappeared from cable TV. I really liked it as a nice, waste away the afternoon movie. BTW - I visited the town it was filmed in a few years ago - it really looks bad these days. Sad.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Low Winter Sun review

Posted : 3 years, 10 months ago on 29 September 2013 01:42 (A review of Low Winter Sun)

Oh, what potential! Place crooked cops in the fertile cesspool of lawlessness and degradation that is the rapidly imploding city of Detroit and you should have the next Breaking Bad. Instead, while it has all the great AMC timing and acting, the "peel back the onion on each character" plot is second-rate, the red herrings are more like lake trout and the show looks like it'll end with a whisper, rather than a bang.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Big Night review

Posted : 3 years, 11 months ago on 20 September 2013 04:47 (A review of Big Night)

Coming from a big, immigrant Italian family myself, this movie holds a special place in my heart.

The conflict between the two brothers, Primo and Secondo, and their rival, Ian Holm's Pascal (in an over-the-top performance) mirrored the American immigrant experience: does one stick to their heritage, like Secondo, who serves "traditional" Italian fare to a scant clientele, or jump into the melting pot, like Pascal, who "gives the people what they want" - a big, pedestrian, plate of spaghetti and meatballs?


Tony Shalhoub's Primo ends being caught in the middle of this argument, seeing "selling out" as his ticket out of the financial mess his brother's restaurant has become.

Minnie Driver's character, Phyllis, the quintessential "Joisey Girl" was a complete waste of her talent.

Overall, this was a real hidden gem of a movie!


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block