Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (33) - TV Shows (42) - Books (2)

I, Claudius review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 11 June 2012 01:45 (A review of I, Claudius)

Probably one of the benchmarks of the mini-series genre and one of the best British-produced shows in television history. Some of the younger actors have gone on to have lengthy and significant careers in film and TV. I watch it anytime it gets aired on TV.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Caprica review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 11 June 2012 01:30 (A review of Caprica)

Crushed under the weight of its own pondering seriousness, Caprica started slow and never seemed to catch on fast enough. The subplots were tight enough, but the Zoe is/isn't alive plot got to be too confusing. If they made her more like the humanoid Cylons from BSG, it would've been easier to related to her character.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The 51st State review

Posted : 5 years, 7 months ago on 11 May 2012 05:04 (A review of The 51st State)

Kind of a mixed up movie (then again, half of Samuel Jackson's movies are,...) but there's a lot of anti-American sentiment that most of us Yanks would miss, as well as the British in-jokes. It'll get lumped in as a second cousin to the Lock, Stock and Layer Cake genre.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Bridge on the River Kwai review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 15 February 2012 04:48 (A review of The Bridge on the River Kwai)

The Bridge On the River Kwai wasn't just about the Pacific Theatre of World War II, it was about British pride and the "stiff upper lip" attitude. Not only did the British seek to build the bridge as a symbol of British moral and dignity, they sought to undermine the Japanese by simply being "British." The entire scene of the British POWs presenting to their captors the plan to properly build the bridge was as much a demonstration of British know-how as it was a way to wear down the camp commander with the Western business model.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Love, American Style review

Posted : 5 years, 10 months ago on 2 February 2012 05:33 (A review of Love, American Style)

I remember the later years (72-73) of this show. Interesting trivia: The Love Boat started out as a vignette from one of the episodes.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Suburgatory review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 12 January 2012 03:54 (A review of Suburgatory)

With her deadpan, sarcastic lines and timing, Jane Levy is the breakout star of the show.The rest of the cast, from Jeremy Sisto's befuddled single dad to Cheryl Hines and the vapid sexpot, are all playing roles direct from TV Central Casting. Allie Grant is a surprise after her role on Weeds, but Carly Chaikin's Dalia is an absolute distraction! She's trying to play the spoiled, rich alpha girl but she comes off as either stoned or heavily-medicated and kills every scene she's in.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tora! Tora! Tora! review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 5 January 2012 03:23 (A review of Tora! Tora! Tora!)

Originally deemed a boring movie and a box-office flop, today it's probably the most fact-based telling of the plot behind the Pearl Harbor attacks, shown from both the Japanese and American sides.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Galaxy Quest review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 4 January 2012 04:31 (A review of Galaxy Quest)

"Never Give Up,...Never Surrender!"
A hilarious spoof of the Star Trek franchise resurgence and stood it on its head! Hell, I think even Gene Roddenberry was laughing in his grave!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Glory Road review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 28 December 2011 04:45 (A review of Glory Road)

It didn't originally appeal to me, but then I had to watch it as part of a managers' training class and I really enjoyed it more than I expected. Knowing the outcome wasn't the big thing here, it was the interplay and because it's based on a true story, its a great snapshot of early-60s race views, too!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Don't Trust the B---- in Apartment 23 review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 28 December 2011 04:25 (A review of Don't Trust the B---- in Apartment 23)

It has Krysten Ritter in it, so my interest is already piqued................................wow, I can't believe I STILL haven't reached the required 100 characters to post my review.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block